Category Archives: Adult Spiritual Education

Schedule of services and events for June 4 – June 11

There is NO FASTING this week for the Feast of Pentecost Monday, June 5 7 PM – Spirituality Class Saturday, June 10 3 PM – Almonte-Radcliff Wedding Sunday, June 11 10 AM – Divine Liturgy Readers Schedule 6/11 – Harry Fong 6/18 – Paul Sulich 6/25 – Susan Paltauf Coffee Hour 6/11 – Carlos/Veronica/Lady/Anna 6/18 – Father’s Day 6/25 – Open 7/2 - Suzanne

Schedule of services and events for May 14 – May 21

Monday, May 15 7 PM – Spirituality Class Tuesday, May 16 8:30 AM –Hours 9 AM – Prayer Group Wednesday, May 17 7 PM –Catechism Class Thursday, May 18 8:30 AM – Akathist 7 PM – St. Nectarios Monthly Anointing Service Friday, May 19 9 AM – Old Testament Class Saturday, May 20 2 PM to 6 PM – OYMT Training St. John’s Church in Bridgeport, CT 7 PM – Vespers Sunday, May 21 10 AM - Divine Liturgy Readers Schedule 5/21 – Christopher Mihaly 5/28 – Suzanne Molineaux Coffee Hour 5/21 – OPEN 5/28 - Sulich

Schedule of services and events for May 7 – May 14

Monday, May 8 7 PM – Spirituality Class Tuesday, May 9 8:30 AM –Hours 9 AM – Prayer Group Wednesday, May 10 9 AM – Divine Liturgy Feast of Mid-Pentecost 7 PM –Catechism Class Thursday, May 11 9 AM – Divine Liturgy Feast of Saints Cyril and Methodius Thursday, May 11 7 PM - Wake for Fr. William George Ss. Peter and Paul, Rockaway, NJ 7 PM – Rectory/Classroom Meeting in Danbury Friday, May 12 10 AM – Funeral for Fr. William George at Ss. Peter and Paul Rockaway, NJ Saturday, May 13 9 AM - Cemetery Clean up 5 PM – Vespers Sunday, May 14 10 AM - Divine Liturgy - Mother’s Day 11:30 AM – Mother’s Day Breakfast Readers Schedule 5/14 – Bob Faubel 5/21 –Susan Paltauf 5/28 – Suzanne Molineaux Coffee Hour 5/14 – Mother’s Day Breakfast 5/21 – OPEN 5/28 - OPEN

Schedule of services and events for April 30 – May 7

Monday, May 1 7 PM – Spirituality Class Tuesday, May 2 8:30 AM – Paschal Hours 9 AM – Prayer Group Wednesday, May 3 7 PM –Catechism Class Thursday, May 4 8:30 AM – Akathist Friday, May 5 9 AM – Old Testament Class 1 PM to 5 PM – Dorothy Day Soup Kitchen Saturday, May 6 5 PM – Vespers Sunday, May 7 10 AM – Divine Liturgy 12:30 PM – Parish Council Readers Schedule 5/7 – Susan Paltauf 5/14 – Bob Faubel 5/21 – Christopher Mihaly 5/28 – Suzanne Molineaux Coffee Hour 5/7 – Natalia Budyonny 5/14 – Mother’s Day Breakfast 5/21 - OPEN 5/28 - OPEN

Schedule of Services and Events for April 16 – April 23

Christ is Risen!  Indeed He is Risen!

  On this Most Bright and Glorious Feast of our Lord Resurrection, I greet everyone with joy filled exclamation: Christ is Risen! I am grateful for all of you have taken seriously this Lenten journey that has been given to us by our Church.  Your efforts have allowed you to safely enter into the harbor our Lord's Resurrection.  For all of us who have taken up the Cross of Lent, God's grace has made this day that much brighter and joy filled!  You have seen and experienced that Pascha, if only for a brief moment, is about Life and how to have it more abundantly!  You have learned that by cooperating with God's grace you can come to better recognize Christ in our every day life and be able choose Him above all else. May the Light of the Risen Lord always shine upon us, In the Risen Christ, Fr. Luke Mihaly   Saturday, April 15 11 PM – Nocturnes, Matins, Divine Liturgy followed by the blessing of Baskets and Agape Meal - HOLY PASCHA NO FASTING for Bright Week Sunday, April 16 12 noon – Paschal Vespers - Blessing of Baskets Monday, April 17 - Bright Monday 9 AM -Divine Liturgy with Procession 7 PM – Spirituality Class Tuesday, April 18 - Bright Tuesday 9 AM – Divine Liturgy Wednesday, April 19 6:30 PM – Monthly St. Nectarios Anointing Service - Rescheduled 7 PM – Catechism Class Thursday, April 20 6:30 PM – Parish Dinner out at The CUE Restaurant.  Please consider carpooling Friday, April 21 9 AM – Old Testament Class  Sunday, April 23 10 AM –Divine Liturgy Readers Schedule 4/23 - Harry Fong 4/30 – Paul Toaso 5/7 – Bob Faubel 5/14 – Susan Paltauf Coffee Hour 4/16 – PASCHA 4/23 – OPEN 4/30 – OYMT Pancake Breakfast Fundraiser

Schedule of services and events for April 2 – April 9

Monday, April 3 7 PM – Spirituality Class Tuesday, April 4 8:30 AM – Lenten Hours Wednesday, April 5 6 PM – Presanctified Liturgy followed by Lenten Meal 7 PM – Catechism Class Thursday, April 6 8:30 AM – Lenten Hours 9 AM – Prayer Group Friday, April 7 9 AM – Lenten Hours 9:30 AM - Old Testament Class 6 PM – Presanctified Liturgy Saturday, April 8 9 AM – Divine Liturgy for Lazarus Saturday 10 AM – Family and Youth Retreat – Making Palm Crosses, Dyeing Eggs, making Luminaries and Prayer Ropes preparing for Palm Sunday and Pascha 5 PM – Great Vespers with Litya for Palm Sunday Sunday, April 9 10 AM – Divine Liturgy Feast of PALM SUNDAY 11:30 AM – Lenten Cook Off Patriarchal Pence Collection—On Palm Sunday, April 9th we will have our annual collection for the Patriarchate of Constantinople Readers Schedule 4/9 – Suzanne Molineaux 4/16 – Paul Sulich 4/23 – Harry Fong 4/30 – Paul Toaso Coffee Hour 4/9 – Lenten Cook Off 4/16 - PASCHA

Schedule of services and events for March 19 – March 26

Monday, March 20 7 PM – Spirituality Class Tuesday, March 21 8:30 AM – Lenten Hours 9 AM – Cookies Wednesday, March 22 6 PM – Presanctified Liturgy followed by Lenten Meal 7 PM – Catechism Class Thursday, March 23 8:30 AM – Lenten Hours 9 AM – Prayer Group Friday, March 24 9 AM – Lenten Hours 9:30 AM - Old Testament Class 6 PM – Paraklis service Saturday, March 25 8:30 AM – Liturgy for the Feast of the Annunciation 10 AM – Family and Youth Outing to Maple Syrup farm 5 PM – Vespers Sunday, March 26 10 AM – Divine Liturgy – Sunday of St. John Climacus 11:30 AM – Church School Readers Schedule 3/26 – Susan Sulich 4/2 – Susan Paltauf Coffee Hour 3/26 – Suzanne 4/2 – Bundra 4/9 – OPEN 4/16 - PASCHA

schedule of services and events for March 12 – March 19

Monday, March 13 7 PM – Spirituality Class Tuesday, March 14 8:30 AM – Lenten Hours 9 AM – Stuffed Cabbage session Wednesday, March 15 6 PM – Presanctified Liturgy followed by Lenten Meal 7 PM – Catechism Class Thursday, March 16 8:30 AM – Akathist 9 AM – Prayer Group 7 PM – St. Nectarios Anointing Service Friday, March 17 9 AM – Lenten Hours 9:30 AM - Old Testament Class 7 PM – Deanery Presanctified Liturgy at St. John’s Church Mill Hill Avenue Saturday, March 18 9 AM – Soul Saturday Liturgy for the departed 4 PM – Akathist to the Inexhaustible Cup 5 PM – Vespers Sunday, March 19 10 AM – Divine Liturgy – Sunday of the Cross 11:30 AM – Church School Readers Schedule 3/19 – Susan Paltauf 3/26 – Susan Sulich Coffee Hour 3/19 – Gross 3/26 – Suzanne 4/2 – Bundra 4/9 – OPEN 4/16 - PASCHA

schedule of services and events for the March 5 – March 12

Monday, March 6 7 PM – Spirituality Class Tuesday, March 7 8:30 AM – Lenten Hours 9 AM – Stuffed Cabbage session Wednesday, March 8 6 PM – Presanctified Liturgy followed by Lenten Meal 7 PM – Catechism Class Thursday, March 9 8:30 AM – Akathist 9 AM – Prayer Group Friday, March 10 9 AM – Lenten Hours 9:30 AM - Old Testament Class 6 PM – Paraklis Service Saturday, March 11 8 AM – Roll Baking 9 AM – Soul Saturday Liturgy for the departed 5 PM – Vespers Saturday, March 11 12 midnight – Turn the Clocks ahead 1 hour Sunday, March 12, 10 AM - Liturgy - St Gregory Palamas Readers Schedule 3/12 – Paul Toaso 3/19 – Susan Paltauf 3/26 – Susan Sulich Coffee Hour 3/12 – McVeigh/Sulich 3/19 – Gross 3/26 – Suzanne 4/2 – Bundra 4/9 – OPEN 4/16 - PASCHA

Preparing for Pascha and the Need to Begin with Forgiveness

Be the Bee

Finding God in Everything, Everyday

A production of the GOARCH Department of Youth and Young Adult ministries and a presentation of Ancient Faith Radio, these brief weekly video podcasts focus on the various ways in which God has infused all of creation with goodness and beauty. The title refers to the metaphor of the bee and the flies that was used by Elder Paisios to describe how Christians should approach life. The host of the program is Steven Christoforou, the Interim Director of the GOA Department of Youth and Young Adult Ministries.   Be the Bee: Forgiveness First