Category Archives: General

Preparing for Pascha and the Need to Begin with Forgiveness

Be the Bee

Finding God in Everything, Everyday

A production of the GOARCH Department of Youth and Young Adult ministries and a presentation of Ancient Faith Radio, these brief weekly video podcasts focus on the various ways in which God has infused all of creation with goodness and beauty. The title refers to the metaphor of the bee and the flies that was used by Elder Paisios to describe how Christians should approach life. The host of the program is Steven Christoforou, the Interim Director of the GOA Department of Youth and Young Adult Ministries.   Be the Bee: Forgiveness First  

Schedule of events and services for February 27 – March 5

Monday, February 27 9 AM – Lenten Hours 6 PM – Canon of St. Andrew Tuesday, February 28 8:30 AM – Lenten Hours 9 AM –Perogie session 6 PM – Canon of St. Andrew Wednesday, March 1 9 AM – Lenten Hours 6 PM – Presanctified Liturgy followed by Lenten Meal 7 PM – Catechism Class Thursday, March 2 8:30 AM – Akathist of Repentance 9 AM – Prayer Group 4 PM – 6 PM - Monthly Food sale 6 PM – Canon of St. Andrew Friday, March 3 9 AM – Lenten Hours 9:30 AM - Old Testament Class 1 pm – 5 pm – Dorothy Day Soup Kitchen 6 PM – Paraklis Service Saturday, March 4 5 PM – Vespers Sunday, March 5 10 AM –Liturgy – Sunday of Orthodoxy Procession with Icons 11:30 AM – Church School 5 PM – Sunday of Orthodoxy Vespers at St. George’s Church Kohanza Street Danbury Readers Schedule 3/5 – Harry Fong 3/12 – Paul Toaso 3/19 – Susan Paltauf 3/26 – Susan Sulich Coffee Hour 3/5 – Vero/Lady/Carmen 3/12 – McVeigh/Sulich 3/19 – Gross 3/26 – Suzanne 4/2 – Bundra 4/9 – OPEN 4/16 - PASCHA

Schedule of services and events for February 19 – February 26

Monday, February 20 7 PM – Spirituality Class Tuesday, February 21 8:30 AM – Hours 9 AM – Perogie Session Wednesday, February 22 NO Catechism Class Thursday, February 23 8:30 AM – Akathist 9 AM – Prayer Group Friday, February 24 9 AM – Old Testament Class Saturday, February 25 11 AM – In formal Q & A with Alex Goodwin from OCMC at Sulich’s home 4 PM – Vespers and OCMC presentation at St. John’s Church Silver Lane, Stratford, CT Sunday, February 26 10 AM – Divine Liturgy – Missions Sunday 11:30 AM – Rite of Forgiveness 11:45 AM – OCMC Presentation by Alex Goodwin - Coffee Hour to benefit OCMC Readers Schedule 2/26 – Bob Faubel 3/5 – Harry Fong 3/12 – Paul Toaso 3/19 – Susan Paltauf 3/26 – Susan Sulich Coffee Hour 2/26 – OCMC Fundraiser 3/5 - OPEN

Holy Trinity participates in St. Vladimir’s Seminary parish music program

St. Vladimir’s Seminary recently launched a program that offers training for readers, choir conductors, and choir members in local parish settings. This program is under the direction of Robin Freeman who is the new Director of Music at St. Vladimir's Seminary.  Holy Trinity was the first parish to benefit from this program. Read about it in the link below. http://www.svots.edu/headlines/seminary-launches-parish-music-program

schedule of services and events for February 12 – February 19

Monday, February 13 7 PM – Spirituality Class Tuesday, February 14 8:30 AM – Hours 9 AM – Perogie Session Wednesday, February 15 7 PM – Catechism Class Thursday, February 16 8:30 AM – Akathist Friday, February 17 9 AM – Old Testament Class Saturday, February 18 9 AM – Liturgy Soul Saturday 6 PM – Vespers Sunday, February 19 10 AM –Divine Liturgy Readers Schedule 2/19 – Susan Paltauf 2/26 – Bob Faubel 3/5 – Christopher Mihaly Coffee Hour 2/19 – OPEN 2/26 - OCMC Coffee Hour Fundraiser

A Reflection from the Prologue from Ochrid

REFLECTION St. Isidore of Pelusium interprets certain words of Holy Scripture in this manner: "Two [women] will be grinding at the mill; one will be taken, and one will be left" (St. Matthew 24:4). This means that many are dedicating themselves to the spiritual life, but with different intentions; some sincerely and steadfastly and others negligently and vainly. The first will be taken into the kingdom of God and the others will be left behind. What does the prayer of the Cup mean? And why did the Lord pray that this cup of Suffering pass from Him? "O My Father, if this Cup cannot pass away from Me unless I drink it, Your will be done!" (St. Matthew 26:42). This means that no one should seek out adversity but when adversity does come, a Christian should accept it and courageously endure it. Concerning the Five Foolish Virgins (St. Matthew, Chapter 25), St. Isidore says: "Indeed, all of them had retained their virginity, but they did not possess the other virtues, especially charity. Virginity alone is not sufficient to enter the kingdom of God. Virginity does not help at all, if the virgin is proud and selfish.   From: http://98.131.104.126/prolog/February7.htm  

schedule of services and events for February 5 – February 12

FAST FREE WEEK  Monday, February 6 7 PM – Spirituality Class Tuesday, February 7 8:30 AM – Hours 9 AM – Perogie Session  Wednesday, February 8 7 PM – Catechism Class Thursday, February 9 8:30 AM – Akathist Friday, February 10 9 AM – Old Testament Class Saturday, February 11 6 PM – Wild Game Dinner Sunday, February 12 10 AM – Divine Liturgy 3 PM – OYMT Training at St. Barbara's in Orange, CT Readers Schedule 2/12 – Christopher Mihaly 2/19 – Susan Paltauf 2/26 – Bob Faubel Coffee Hour 2/12 – OPEN 2/19 – OPEN 2/26 - OPEN

Schedule of services and events for January 29 – February 5, 2017

Tuesday, January 31 9 AM – Perogie Session  Wednesday, February 1 6 PM – Vespers for the Presentation of Christ in the Temple 7 PM – Catechism Class  Thursday, February 2 9 AM – Liturgy for the Feast of the Presentation- Blessing of Candles 5 PM - 7 pm – Monthly Perogie Sale  Friday, February 3 9 AM – Old Testament Class Saturday, February 4 5 PM – Vespers Sunday, February 5 10 AM – Liturgy Readers Schedule 1/29 – Harry Fong 2/5 – Paul Toaso 2/12 – Christopher Mihaly 2/19 – Susan Paltauf 2/26 – Bob Faubel Coffee Hour 1/29 – Suzanne Molineaux 2/5 – OPEN 2/12 – OPEN 2/19 – OPEN 2/26 - OPEN

Schedule of services and events for July 22 – July 29

Monday, January 23 7 PM – Spirituality Class Tuesday, January 24 8:30 AM – Hours 9 AM – Perogie session Thursday, January 26 8:30 AM – Akathist Friday, January 27 9 AM – Old Testament Class – Note time change 7 PM – Visit of the miraculous weeping icon of the Kardiotissa from Taylor, PA Saturday, January 28 3 PM – Vespers Sunday, January 29 10 AM – Divine Liturgy 11:30 AM – Stewardship Sunday 11:45 AM – Annual Parish Meeting Readers Schedule 1/29 – Harry Fong 2/5 – Paul Toaso 2/12 – Christopher Mihaly 2/19 – Susan Paltauf 2/26 – Bob Faubel Coffee Hour 1/29 – Suzanne Molineaux 2/5 – Villa 2/12 – OPEN 2/19 – OPEN 2/26 - OPEN  

Schedule of services and events for January 15 – Janaury 22

Monday, January 16 7 PM – Spirituality Class Tuesday, January 17 8:30 AM – Hours 9:30 AM – Prayer Group 7 PM – Parish Council Meeting Wednesday, January 18 9 AM – Liturgy in memory of for Victor Kuziak, John Fedyna, Dorothy Lloyd-Brown and Joe LaDuca Thursday, January 19 8:30 AM – Akathist 7 PM – Anointing Service to St. Nectarios Friday, January 20, 9 AM Old Testament Class – Note time change Saturday, January 21 5 PM – Vespers Sunday, January 22 10 AM- Divine Liturgy – Collection for Zoe for Life 11:30 AM – Church School 12:30 PM- Choir Seminar 5 PM – OYMT Meeting Readers Schedule 1/22 – Paul Sulich 1/29 – Harry Fong Coffee Hour 1/22 – Carlos Morfa 1/29 – Suzanne Molineaux