All posts by Fr. Luke Mihaly

Services and Events for the Week of February 14 – February 21

Monday, February 15
6 PM –
Prayer Group
7 PM – Spirituality Class

Tuesday, February 16
8:30 AM –
First Hour
9 AM – Perogies

Thursday, February 18
8:30 AM –
Akathist
7 PM – St. Nectarios Service

Friday, February 19
9:30 AM –
Old Testament Class
7 PM – Orthodox Approach to the 12 Step Program at St. George’s Albanian Orthodox Church in Trumbull, CT

Saturday, February 20
4 PM to 6 PM –
Max Rosenfield Baseball Clinic at  Danbury Sports Dome
5 PM – Vespers

Sunday, February 21
9 AM
– Church School – Youth/Teens
10 AM –Liturgy
11:30 AM – Church School – Children
3 PM – 5 PM – ASP Meeting St. John’s Bridgeport

Readers Schedule
2/21 – Luke Mihaylo
2/28 – Susan Paltauf
3/6 – Harry Fong
3/13 – Sandi Fong

Coffee Hour
2/21 – Faubel
2/28 – Behrend
3/6 – Fong
3/13 – Faubel

 

Monday Adult Ed Classes Canceled

Our Monday evening Adult Education Classes on Prayer and Spirituality have been are canceled due to the weather.

Tuesday morning Perogie sessions are still on as long as we are plowed out and the snow stops this evening as has been predicted.  

If you have any concerns about going out and traveling tomorrow’s for Perogie Session, please stay home and be safe.

Services and Events for the week of February 7 – February 14

Monday, February 8
6 PM –
Prayer Group
7 PM – Spirituality Class

Tuesday, February 9
8:30 AM –
First Hour
9 AM – Perogies

Thursday, February 11
8:30 AM –
Akathist

Friday, February 12
9:30 AM –
Old Testament Class

Saturday, February 13
5 PM –
Vespers

Sunday, February 14
9 AM
– Church School – Youth
10 AM
–Liturgy
11:30 AM – Church School -Children

Readers Schedule
2/7 – Bob Faubel
2/14 – Jonathan McCormack
2/21 – Luke Mihaylo
2/28 – Susan Paltauf

Coffee Hour
2/7 – Villa
2/14 – Sulich
2/21 – OPEN
2/28 – OPEN

Services and Events for the week of January 31 – February 7

Monday, February 1
6 PM –
Prayer Group
7 PM – Spirituality Class

Tuesday, February 2
8 AM –
Liturgy – Presentation
9 AM – Perogies

Wednesday, February 3
7 PM –
Catechism Class

Thursday, February 4
8:30 AM –
Akathist
4 PM to 7 PM – Monthly Perogie Sale

Friday, February 5
9:30 AM –
Old Testament Class

Saturday, February 6
10 AM –
Retreat at St. George’s
4 PM – Vespers at St. George’s

Sunday, February 7
9 AM
– Church School
10 AM –Liturgy

Readers Schedule
1/31 – Sandi Fong
2/7 – Bob Faubel
2/14 – Jonathan McCormack
2/21 – Luke Mihaylo
2/28 – Susan Paltauf

Coffee Hour
1/31 – Bundra
2/7 – Villa
2/14 – Sulich

Services and Events for the Week of January 24 – January 31

Monday, January 25
6 PM –
Prayer Group
7 PM – Spirituality Class

Tuesday, January 26
8:30 AM –
First Hour
9 AM – Perogies

Wednesday, January 27
7 PM –
Catechism Class
8:30 AM – Akathist

Friday, January 29
9:30 AM –
Old Testament Class

Saturday, January 30
8 AM –
Service for Three Hierarchs
5 PM – Vespers

Sunday, January 31
9 AM
– Church School
10 AM –Liturgy
11:30 AM – Annual Meeting
3 PM – ASP Meeting

The Annual meeting has been rescheduled for Sunday, January 31. Parish Council Officers are as follows:

Susan Sulich – President
Harry Fong – Vice President
Monika Mihaly – Treasurer
Lorraine Fedyna – Secretary
Luke Mihaylo – Assistant Treasurer
Nicholas Fong, Luke Faubel and Christopher Mihaly – Member at Large

Readers Schedule
1/24 – Susan Sulich
1/31 – Sandi Fong

Coffee Hour
1/24 – OPEN
1/31 – Bundra
2/7 – Villa
2/14 – Sulich

Services and Events for the Week of January 17 – January 24

Monday, January 18
6 PM –
Prayer Group
7 PM – Spirituality Class 

Tuesday, January 19
8:30 AM –
Royal Hours
9 AM – Perogies

Wednesday, January 20
8 AM –
Memorial Liturgy
7 PM – Catechism Class

Thursday, January 21
8:30 AM –
Akathist
7 PM – St. Nectarios Monthly Service

Friday, January 22
9:30 AM –
Old Testament Class

Saturday, January 23
5 PM –
Vespers

Sunday, January 24
9 AM
– Church School
10 AM –Liturgy
11:30 AM – Annual Meeting

This is the third of three announcements for the Annual meeting which is set for Sunday, January 24.

Parish Council Officers are as follows:
Susan Sulich – President
Harry Fong – Vice President
Monika Mihaly – Treasurer
Lorraine Fedyna – Secretary
Luke Mihaylo – Assistant Treasurer
Nicholas Fong, Luke Faubel and Christopher Mihaly – Member at Large

Readers Schedule
1/17 – Harry Fong
1/24 – Susan Sulich
1/31 – Sandi Fong

Services and Events for the Week of January 10 – January 17

Monday, January 11
6 PM –
Prayer Group
7 PM – Spirituality Class

Tuesday, January 12
8:30 AM
– Hours

Wednesday, January 13
7 PM –
Catechism Class

Thursday, January 14
8:30 AM –
Akathist

Friday, January 15
9:30 AM –
Old Testament Class
7 PM – Parish Council Meeting

Saturday, January 16
4 PM –
Vespers
6 PM – New Years Dance

Sunday, January 17
10 AM
–Fr. Nicholas’ First Liturgy

This is the second of three announcements for the Annual meeting which is set for Sunday, January 24.

Parish Council Officers are as follows:
Susan Sulich – President
Harry Fong – Vice President
Monika Mihaly – Treasurer
Lorraine Fedyna – Secretary
Open – Assistant Treasurer
Nicholas Fong, Luke Faubel and Christopher Mihaly – Member at Large

Readers Schedule
1/10 – Susan Paltauf
1/17 – Harry Fong
1/24 – Susan Sulich
1/31 – Sandi Fong

Coffee Hour
1/10 – Pro-Liturgy
1/17 –Catered for 1st Liturgy
1/24 – OPEN

Services and Events for the Week of January 3 – January 10

Monday, January 4
6 PM – Prayer Group
7 PM – Spirituality Class

Tuesday, January 5
8:30 AM
– Royal Hours
7 PM – Vigil for Theophany

Wednesday, January 6
9 AM
– Liturgy for Theophany

Thursday, January 7
8:30 AM
– Akathist to St. John the Baptist

Friday, January 8
9:30 AM
– Old Testament Class

Sunday, January 10
10 AM
– Pro-Liturgy with the distribution of Holy Communion

REMINDER:  The Eve of Theophany, January 5 is a strict fast day.

ANNOUNCEMENTS
This is the first of three announcements for the Annual meeting which is set for Sunday, January 24.  Please keep this date open to discuss the life and future of your parish.  You are integral to the health and future of Holy Trinity.

We will be voting in a new parish council.  The slate of Parish Council Officers are as follows:

Susan Sulich – President
Harry Fong – Vice President
Monika Mihaly – Treasurer
Lorraine Fedyna – Secretary
Open – Assistant Treasurer
Nicholas Fong, Luke Faubel and Christopher Mihaly – Members at Large

Readers Schedule
1/3 – Stasia Mihaly
1/10 – Susan Paltauf
1/17 – Harry Fong
1/24 – Susan Sulich
1/31 – Sandi Fong

Coffee Hour
1/3 – Open
1/10 – Pro-Liturgy
1/17 –Catered for 1st Liturgy for Fr. Nicholas Mihaly’s 1st Liturgy
1/24 – OPEN

Christmas Archpastoral Letter from His Grace Bishop Gregory

Protocol. No. 21/2015

December 25, 2015 / January 7, 2016

CHRIST IS BORN! GLORIFY HIM!

Dear Beloved Brothers and Sisters in Christ,

I greet you with great joy and love in the Name of our Incarnate Lord and Savior Jesus Christ!  I give thanks to Almighty God by whose grace we have been given the opportunity to celebrate the Birth of His Son.  Looking around, we still see hatred, mistrust, violence, suffering, and the absence of peace in our world.  This reality of life in this world makes us cry out for God’s help, assistance and intervention.

The holy gift of God’s Son at Christmas reveals to us His love and care for all humanity.  As human beings, we are awed by the miracle of God becoming man: the divine glory revealed in a child born in poor circumstances, the omnipotent Creator a little baby in His Mother’s arms.  Indeed on this night the Redeemer becomes one of us, as St. John Chrysostom says, He took on our flesh to make us holy, and gave us His Spirit so that we can be reconciled with our Creator and enter into eternal life with Him.

Therefore as we celebrate the miracle of His Birth, let kindness come with every gift, and compassion, forgiveness and love with every greeting.  Let us beautify our hearts with prayer and charity, so that all people may enter into the joy of the Feast of the Nativity with us.  Let us give our families and friends the lasting gift of forgiveness and reconciliation.  Let us pray for one another, that we may forget about our own concerns and truly love our neighbor as ourselves.  Let us worship the One who came from the highest heaven to dwell with us on earth, raising us from this world into the Kingdom of God.

Today may all of us, Priests, Panis, Deacons, Subdeacons, Readers, Parish Officers, Parishioners, Friends, and Supporters of our God-protected American Carpatho-Russian Orthodox Diocese experience the joy and wonders of the Shepherds and the awe and respect of the Three Wise Men at the arrival of the Messiah, our new born King.  Christ is Born!

Greetings from Johnstown with much love,

+His Grace, Bishop Gregory of Nyssa