All posts by Fr. Luke Mihaly

Services and Events for the week of April 10 – April 17

Monday, April 11 6 PM – Prayer Group 7 PM – Spirituality Class   Tuesday, April 12 8:30 AM – Lenten Hours 9 AM – Perogie Session Wednesday, April 13 9 AM - Lenten Hours 6 PM – Presanctified Liturgy followed by Lenten Meal 7 PM – Catechism Class Thursday, April 14 8:30 AM – Akathist of Repentance 6 PM – Canon of St. Andrew and Life of St. Mary of Egypt Friday, April 15 9 AM – Lenten Hours 9:30 AM – Old Testament Class 7 PM – Akathist at St. Georges Saturday, April 16 10 AM – 3 PM – Second Bake and Craft Sale 5 PM – Vespers Sunday, April 17 9 AM – Church School – Youth/Teens 10 AM –Liturgy – St. Mary of Egypt Sunday 11:30 AM – Church School – Children Readers Schedule 4/10 –Bob Faubel 4/17 – Sandi Fong 4/24 – Susan Paltauf 5/1- Paul Sulich Coffee Hour 4/10 Fundraiser OCMC 4/17 – OPEN 4/24 – Pot Luck/Lenten Cook Off 5/1 – PASCHA 5/8 - OPEN

One Person at a Time: Changing the world begins with me

The Elder Sophroni of Essex said he believed in changing the world, one person at a time. These words are in agreement with those of Saint Seraphim of Sarov, who said acquiring inner peace causes a thousand around us to be saved. As long as we concentrate on the failings of others, inner transformation will elude us, and the world will remain in darkness. If we remain stuck in the quagmire of sin, and focused on the failings of others, we will fail in the work of conforming ourselves to the will of God. It is, of course, much more personally comfortable to notice the failings and the sins of others, but if we do not take stock of ourselves, we will do great harm to our soul. Judging others opens wide the gates for evil spirits to enter, whereby laying waste and destroying the grace of baptism that resides within our hearts. We are in a battle against evil forces, and we had better be on guard. Our eternal life depends on it. With love in Christ, Abbot Tryphon

About Abbot Tryphon

The Very Rev. Fr. Tryphon is a priest-monk of the Russian Orthodox Church (ROCOR) and abbot of the All-Merciful Saviour Monastery on Vashon Island, Washington

Services and Events for the week of April 3 – April 10

Monday, April 4 6 PM – Prayer Group 7 PM – Spirituality Class  Tuesday, April 5 8:30 AM – Lenten Hours 9 AM – Perogie Session Wednesday, April 6, 9 AM - Lenten Hours 6 PM – Presanctified Liturgy followed by Lenten Meal 7 PM – Catechism Class Thursday, April 7 8:30 AM – Akathist of Repentance Friday, April 8 9 AM – Lenten Hours 9:30 AM – Old Testament Class 5:30 PM – Moleben to the Cross 7 PM – Akathist at St. Georges Saturday, April 9 8 AM – Taylor trip to weeping icon. Meet at church parking lot 6 PM – Vespers Sunday, April 10 9 AM – Church School – Youth/Teens 10 AM –Liturgy – St. John Climacus Sunday 11:30 AM – Church School – Children 12:30 PM – Parish Council Meeting 12:30 PM – Knitting group Readers Schedule 4/3 – Harry Fong 4/10 –Bob Faubel 4/17 – Sandi Fong 4/24 – Susan Paltauf 5/1- Paul Sulich Coffee Hour 4/3 – Penny Social 4/10 Fundraiser OCMC 4/17 – OPEN 4/24 – Pot Luck/Lenten Cook Off 5/1 – PASCHA 5/8 - Mother's Day - Fong/Sulich

Services and Events for the week of March 27 – April 3

Monday, March 28 6 PM – Prayer Group 7 PM – Spirituality Class    Tuesday, March 29 8:30 AM – Lenten Hours 9 AM – Perogie Session Wednesday, March 30 9 AM - Lenten Hours 6 PM – Presanctified Liturgy followed by Lenten Meal 7 PM – Catechism Class Thursday, March 31 8:30 AM – Akathist of Repentance Friday, April 1 9 AM – Lenten Hours 9:30 AM – Old Testament Class 7 PM – Deanery Presanctified Liturgy at St. John’s Mill Hill Avenue Saturday, April 2 9 AM – Soul Saturday Liturgy 12 noon – OYMT tool training at St. John’s Church Mill Hill Ave 5 PM – Vespers Sunday, April 3 9 AM – Church School – Youth/Teens 10 AM –Liturgy – Cross Veneration Sunday 11:30 AM – Church School – Children 12 noon – Penny Social Readers Schedule 3/27 – Susan Sulich 4/3 – Harry Fong 4/10 - Bob Faubel 4/17 – Sandi Fong 4/24 – Susan Paltauf 5/1- Paul Sulich Coffee Hour 3/27 – Gross 4/3 – Penny Social 4/10 Fundraiser OCMC 4/17 – OPEN 4/24 – Pot Luck/Lenten Cook Off 5/1 – PASCHA 5/8 - OPEN

Services and Events for the week of March 20 – March 27

Monday, March 21 6 PM – Prayer Group 7 PM – Spirituality Class  Tuesday, March 22 8:30 AM – Lenten Hours 7 PM - Parish Council Meeting Wednesday, March 23 6 PM – Presanctified Liturgy followed by Lenten Meal 7 PM – Catechism Class Thursday, March 24 8:30 AM – Akathist of Repentance 6 PM – Vespers of Annunciation Friday, March 25 9 AM – Vesperal Liturgy for Annunciation 3 PM – Deanery Women’s Retreat Camp Hi-Rock Friday, March 25, 6 PM –Service at St. George’s Danbury Saturday, March 26 8 AM – 2 PM – Deanery Women’s retreat 5 PM – Vespers Sunday, March 27 9 AM – Church School – Youth/Teens 10 AM –Liturgy – St. Gregory Palamas Sunday 11:30 AM – Church School – Children Readers Schedule 3/20 – Luke Mihaylo 3/27 – Susan Sulich 4/3 – Harry Fong Coffee Hour 3/20 – Molineaux 3/27 – Gross 4/3 – Penny Social/Natalia/Roz 4/10 Fundraiser OCMC 4/17 – OPEN 4/24 – Pot Luck/Lenten Cook Off 5/1 – PASCHA 5/8 - OPEN

Services and Events for the week of March 13 – March 20

Monday, March 14 9 AM – Lenten Hours 6 PM – Canon of St. Andrew Tuesday, March 15 8:30 AM – Lenten Hours 9 AM –Stuffed Cabbage 6 PM – Canon of St. Andrew Wednesday, March 16, 9 AM – Lenten Hours 6 PM – Presanctified Liturgy followed by Lenten Meal 7 PM – Catechism Class Thursday, March 17, 8:30 AM – Akathist of Repentance 9 AM - Kolachi Making 6 PM – Canon of St. Andrew  Friday, March 18 9 AM – Lenten Hours 9:30 AM - Old Testament Class 6 PM – Paraklis Service Saturday, March 19 10 AM – 3 PM – Easter Craft and Bake Sale 4 PM - Akathist to the Icon of the Inexhaustible Cup 5 PM – Vespers Sunday, March 20 9 AM – Church School – Youth/Teens 10 AM –Liturgy – Sunday of Orthodoxy Procession with Icons 11:30 AM – Church School – Children 3 PM – OYMT meeting Danbury 4 PM - Sunday of Orthodox Vespers Bridgeport - St. John's - Mill Hill Readers Schedule 3/13 – Sandi Fong 3/20 – Luke Mihaylo 3/27 – Susan Sulich 4/3 – Harry Fong Coffee Hour 3/13 – Faubel 3/20 - Molineaux 3/27 - Gross 4/3 - Penny Social - Natalie/Roz 4/10 - Fundraiser OCMC 4/17 - OPEN 2/24 - Pot Luck/Lenten Cook Off 5/1 - PASCHA 5/8 - Mother's Day 5/15 - Young

Services and Events for the week of March 6 – March 13

Monday, March 7 6 PM – Prayer Group 7 PM - Spirituality Class Tuesday, March 8 8:30 AM – First Hour Wednesday, March 9 7 PM – Catechism Class Thursday, March 10 8:30 AM – Akathist Friday, March 11 9:30 AM – Old Testament Class Saturday, March 12 8 AM – Roll Baking 5 PM – Vespers Saturday, March 12 DAY LIGHT SAVINGS TIME - Turn clocks ahead One Hour Sunday, March 13 9 AM – Church School – Youth/Teens 10 AM –Liturgy 11:30 AM – Church School – Children Readers Schedule 3/6 – Harry Fong 3/13 – Sandi Fong 3/20 – Luke Mihaylo Coffee Hour 3/6 - Fong 3/13 – Faubel 3/20 - Molineaux

Schedule of Services and Events for the week of February 28 – March 6

Monday, February 29 6 PM – Prayer Group 7 PM - Spirituality Class Tuesday, March 1 8:30 AM – First Hour 9 AM – Cookies Wednesday, March 2 7 PM – Catechism Class Thursday, March 3 8:30 AM – Akathist Friday, March 4 9:30 AM – Old Testament Class 1 PM – 5 PM – Dorothy Day Soup Kitchen Saturday, March 5 9 AM – Soul Saturday Liturgy 4 PM – Vespers 6 PM – Wild Game Dinner Sunday, March 6 9 AM – Church School – Youth/Teens 10 AM –Liturgy 11:30 AM - Panachida for John Sulich 11:30 AM – Church School – Children Readers Schedule 2/28 – Susan Paltauf 3/6 – Harry Fong 3/13 – Sandi Fong Coffee Hour 2/28 – Behrend 3/6 - Fong 3/13 - Faubel

Services and Events for the week of February 21 – February 28

Sunday, February 21 3 PM – 5 PM – ASP Meeting St. John’s Bridgeport Monday, February 22 6 PM – Prayer Group 7 PM - Spirituality Class Tuesday, February 23 8:30 AM – First Hour 9 AM – Perogies Thursday, February 25 8:30 AM – Akathist Friday, February 26 9:30 AM – Old Testament Class 6:30 PM – Parish Dinner out at Chuck’s Steakhouse Saturday, February 27 5 PM – Vespers Sunday, February 28 9 AM – Church School – Youth/Teens 10 AM –Liturgy 11:30 AM – Church School – Children Readers Schedule 2/21 – Luke Mihaylo 2/28 – Susan Paltauf 3/6 – Harry Fong 3/13 – Sandi Fong Coffee Hour 2/21 – Faubel 2/28 – Behrend 3/6 - Fong 3/13 - Brancho/Chow